I know it’s not the most exciting layout . . .

7 12 2007

. . . but given my lack of expertise re: CSS and image manipulation software, it will have to suffice for now.

So, what happened at Blogger? Well, I’m not entirely sure. Evidently some bug in the system is causing it to alternate between “Old Blogger” and “New Blogger,” and when I thought I’d lost my template, I’m embarrassed to say I threw something of a hissy fit. My Blogspot site seems to be functioning almost normally now, except that the post truncation (which isn’t a native feature of Blogger anyway) isn’t working anymore. Suffice it to say I’m no longer posting at my old blog and will be starting afresh here.

Actions

Information

16 responses

7 12 2007
Mana

Good job on moving! I couldn’t post comments on your other blog. I was getting server error every time I tried (the server doesn’t respond).

7 12 2007
slim

I’m not a big fan of Blogger – the comment handling sucks. WordPress is much better – the downside is that you have to pay about $10 a year to customise css.

7 12 2007
slim

Might I suggest switching off comment moderation? Akismet antispam lets through less than one in a thousand spam comments.

7 12 2007
AV

It was a reluctant move, given the user-friendliness of (the new) Blogger. Oh well, onwards and upwards.

7 12 2007
arthurvandelay

OK . . . I’ve attempted to switch off moderation. Let’s see if it worked.

7 12 2007
arthurvandelay

Yay!

8 12 2007
The Worst of Perth

Hi mate.

8 12 2007
Simmo

Hey mate, sorry to hear about what happened back home (blogger), when you’re ready it’d be great to have you back 🙂

8 12 2007
ninglun

You’ll take to it, Arthur. 🙂

8 12 2007
Bruce

Welcome to the world of WordPress. You are aware that you can import your blogger posts to WordPress, aren’t you?

I’ll update my links soon.

8 12 2007
stephen

Yeah, I don’t get why everyone gives up on blogger.
Perhaps you will reveal one day.

8 12 2007
stephen

I would be happy to make the shift if I could be convinced. I did recently update my templates, and I am trying to work out how to make RSS feeds…and apart from this trying to teach myself Photoshop!!!

Aagh. This is what priests do before Christmas, to push themselves completely over the edge.

8 12 2007
arthurvandelay

Apologies if your comment has been stuck in the moderation queue, guys. I thought I’d fixed that.

8 12 2007
arthurvandelay

You are aware that you can import your blogger posts to WordPress, aren’t you?

I’ll look into it, Bruce–cheers!

9 12 2007
ninglun

It’s very easy to import the entire Blogspot blog, Arthur. Good for continuity too. The only problem you might have is that “foreign” split post thing you were using…

9 12 2007
arthurvandelay

I was thinking the same thing.

Leave a Reply

