We are all wafer-desecraters now

11 07 2008

A Florida student receives death threats for attempting to smuggle a communion wafer out of a Mass, after being wrestled for it by a church leader. Other church figures describe the student’s actions as a “hate crime,” curiously neglecting to apply this description to the aforementioned death threats. The Catholic League for Religious and Civil Rights campaigns for the student’s expulsion, but also remains curiously silent on the matter of the death threats.

Blogging on the transparent stupidity of this situation, PZ Myers makes the following suggestion:

Can anyone out there score me some consecrated communion wafers? There’s no way I can personally get them — my local churches have stakes prepared for me, I’m sure — but if any of you would be willing to do what it takes to get me some, or even one, and mail it to me, I’ll show you sacrilege, gladly, and with much fanfare. I won’t be tempted to hold it hostage (no, not even if I have a choice between returning the Eucharist and watching Bill Donohue kick the pope in the balls, which would apparently be a more humane act than desecrating a goddamned cracker), but will instead treat it with profound disrespect and heinous cracker abuse, all photographed and presented here on the web. I shall do so joyfully and with laughter in my heart. If you can smuggle some out from under the armed guards and grim nuns hovering over your local communion ceremony, just write to me and I’ll send you my home address.

This is, apparently, all it takes for Myers himself to become the subject of death threats, as well as a campaign to get him disciplined by his employer the University of Minnesota orchestrated by the very same Catholic “civil rights” organisation mentioned above that clearly values discs of bread over human life.

My ire at this breathtaking display of idiocy is not directed at Catholics in general. I appreciate that many Catholics are sane and rational people who are blessed with a sense of proportion and are not going to get their panties in a twist over the prospect of host-desecration. Those many Catholics should not be tainted with the sociopathy of that subset of Catholics who (i) are unable to comprehend that respecting the rights of individuals to believe what they want to believe does not mean that the beliefs themselves must be respected, and (ii) want to harm (or desire for harm to be brought upon) those who mock or question the ideas they cherish.

I guess I just don’t see why wafer rights should outweigh human rights.

See also: Friendly Atheist and Richard Dawkins.

Actions

Information

10 responses

12 07 2008
12 07 2008
Sean the Blogonaut

I thought that it was only fundies that over reacted this much. Off to find a communion wafer and film myself wiping it up my arse crack.

12 07 2008
Bruce

Tell us when you get death threats, Sean.

Oh, and I hope you aren’t going to eat it afterward. Youtube has already seen enough with two girls and a cup.

13 07 2008
Hostienkrise: Todesdrohungen wegen Keksentführung | DER MISANTHROP

[…] get more insane? [↩]PLEASE WRITE IN SUPPORT OF PZ MYERS [↩]fivepublicopinions – We are all wafer-desecraters now [↩] « Early Morning News Dieser Eintrag wurde von Benjamin B. verfasst, in der […]

17 07 2008
A more welcoming stance towards gays and lesbians . . . or teh Jesus gets it. « Five Public Opinions

[…] John remarks, this YouTube may not last, but given the hysterical overreaction to PZ Myer’s post on “Frackin’ Crackers,” I think we can expect a lot more of […]

24 07 2008
Anon

Not to be off topic, but I have to share.

At a unnamed christian university a few years ago, a bunch of PK (preacher kids, read:gay/drugs/ect) took some LSD. I, in my evil ways, snuck some wafers from the church a few days before. At my peak I stood in the kitchen and commenced to offer the body of christ. Needless to say, some came pious to my outstretched hand, others ran in fright.
No one forgot it.
🙂

25 07 2008
Bruce

I can one up you Anon. As a teenager, I put some of my own flesh and blood in a Tuna Mornay for Christians to eat at Easter.

28 07 2008
Walking on communion wafers « Five Public Opinions

[…] of comments on the half-a-dozen-or-so relevant Pharyngula threads at your own leisure for more) because of his remarks about the Eucharist are quick to point out, “We’re only human!!” In spite of themselves, people often […]

26 12 2008
Hostienkrise: Todesdrohungen wegen Keksentführung | ars libertatis

[…] [↩]richarddawkins.net – PLEASE WRITE IN SUPPORT OF PZ MYERS [↩]fivepublicopinions – We are all wafer-desecraters now [↩] « Early Morning NewsLieber Bar Mitzwa als Etatismus » Dieser Eintrag wurde […]

23 05 2011
mac comestic

It is my great pleasure to visit your website and to enjoy your excellent post here. I like that very much. That is very kind of you to do this for us. Thank you very much. If you are looking for mac cosmetics , here is the right place. We are engage in mac comestic

Leave a Reply

